Tserkov in Łówcza was built in 1808, was then remodelled in 1899 and received its final form

Tserkov in Łówcza

Parish of Saint Michael the Archangel in Płazów

Łówcza 47A

37-614 Łówcza


how to get there

The interior walls are partly covered by panelling, above which we can see architectural and figurative polychrome decorations. Consecration crosses have been preserved in the chancel. In the narthex, above the entrance to the nave, we can see an inscription in Cyrillic letters, with the dates of construction (1808), and the polychrome decorations (1905). The preserved features inside include the architectural altar in the chancel, from the late 18th/early 19th century, as well as the iconostasis from 1901, between the nave and the chancel. The icons in the lower tiers are missing. On the walls there are a few icons and paintings from the 1800s.


Since a new church was built in 2001 the tserkva has no longer been used.


Promotional clip:




Read more about the attraction on the Wooden Architecture Route website



Photo: Krzysztof Zajączkowski