Church of St Stanislaus the Bishop in Humniska was built in the 1400s, and then in 1699 a brick sacristy was added. The structure was further remodelled a number of times between the 18th and 20th century

Church of St Stanislaus the Bishop in Humniska

Parish of St Stanislaus the Bishop in Humniska

Humniska 664

36-200 Humniska


how to get there

The log church, oriented towards the east, is a single span structure (the chancel and the nave are of the same width), with a rectangular floor plan, and a small transept as well as the side chapels.


Inside there are flat ceilings. The chancel entry is enclosed with a semi-circular arch, with rood beam supporting a Baroque crucifix. The furnishings mainly date from the 17th and 18th century. The mannerist high altar was brought here from a Capuchin church once standing on Michałek Hill in Blizne, after it was dismantled.  Other features include four Baroque side altars, a Baroque pulpit, a stone Gothic baptismal font, and a stone holy water font from the 1500s.


Read more about the attraction on the Wooden Architecture Route website



Photo: Wawrzyniec Augustyn