The tserkva of the Protection of Our Most Holy Lady in Chyrowa is a former Greek Catholic tserkva of the Intercession of the Theotokos built in the 1700s by Łemko people

Greek Catholic tserkov in Chyrowa


how to get there

We do not know exactly when the church was built. On the lintel over the entrance to the narthex we can see the date 21 June 1780. However, the nave and the brick chancel are believed to be older; the latter part may have been built in 1707. The building was thoroughly restored in 1932, and new wall paintings were added inside.


Read more about the attraction on the Wooden Architecture Route website



Photo: Krystian Kłysewicz