Greek Catholic tserkov in Krościenko dates from 1558. The tserkva of Nativity of the Mother of God was built in 1794−1799

Greek Catholic tserkov in Krościenko

Krościenko 173

38-700 Ustrzyki Dolne


how to get there

After 1951, when the village population was forcefully resettled, the building was abandoned. Later it was used as a sheepfold or a fertiliser storage by a farming cooperative run by Greek people living here at the time. They were relocated to Krościenko after 1948, when they had to flee their country in the aftermath of the civil war. Most of them returned to Greece after the 1968 amnesty, only a few Greek families remained in Krościenko area. In 1971 the devastated tserkva was taken over by Roman Catholics who thoroughly restored it in 1973. From that time, the building has been used as the parish church of Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary.


Read more about the attraction on the Wooden Architecture Route website



Fot. Krystian Kłysewicz